The Delta Gamma Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. is rich in local, regional and national history.

Evolving out the Alpha Alpha Chapter of the University of Cincinnati to place the intellectual effort of a growing class of professionals to work, we have seven plus decades of advancing leadership and impact for the community we reside in.

Delta Gamma Lambda embodies the mission of our beloved organization: developing leaders, promoting brotherhood and academic excellence, while providing service and advocacy for our communities.


The Delta Gamma Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. was chartered December 20, 1947 in Cincinnati, Ohio. On December 26-30, 1959, Delta Gamma Lambda and Alpha Alpha Chapters hosted the 45th General Convention. During this convention, Bro. Theodore M. Berry, Cincinnati OH’s first black mayor, (General Counsel, 1937), presented the NAACP award of honor to the General President, Bro. Myles A. Paige. It was the convention where the announcement was made to the brotherhood of the passing of Jewel Brother Nathaniel Allison Murray on December 6th of the same year.


Delta Gamma Lambda was established during the fraternity’s era of “militant liberalism” and took aggressive action to eliminate segregation and discrimination against Negroes and to secure full civil rights. One of Delta Gamma Lambda’s founding members, Bro. Darwin Turner, is the youngest graduate in the history of the University of Cincinnati.

Our resolve remains strong and continues even today.


The Delta Gamma Lambda Chapter lives in the House of Alpha and works across chapters and partners in the spirit of leadership and service. The undergraduate chapters that our chapter affiliates with include:

Delta Upsilon

Miami University

Rho Gamma

Northern Kentucky

Sigma Gamma

Xavier University

Learn More About Becoming An Alpha